« Violet's Diary | Main | World Maps »

Time Difference

Yeah, I can see the future, mate. It's 11:30 p.m. around Chicago, Saturday night, eh? OK, I'll tell what it'll be like around my town at 1:30 p.m. on Sunday. It's cloudy, a little cool for this time of year. No, rather cold! Come on, I feel like putting on a sweater! Is it really summer?!

Time difference is interesting. I find in the morning that someone posted a comment on my blog at 4:00 a.m. and I wonder, "Hey, is he an early bird or a night owl?" Fact is, it was in the middle of the day on his part. Japan is 15 hours ahead of Chicago. When it's noon here, it's 9 p.m. in Chicago, 7 p.m. in Los Angeles, 10 p.m. in Toronto, and 3 a.m. in the UK. Oh, summer time? Then plus one hour. There is no daylight saving time in Japan.

I'm more of a morning person. I usually write in my blog before noon. The early blogger catches ...what? Given the time zone Japan is in, I may be a blogger that posts the day's entry earlier than anyone else.

Comments

Hello. Just out of curiosity, how did you choose to mention Chicago in this blog entry? I live about 60 miles from Chicago, in a northwestern small town/suburb called Spring Grove. I work as a technician in a public library, am 45, and write English-language haiku. For now, I'm just a wandering reader, but soon I hope to start my own weblog.

MNW

Hi, MNW. Thanks for the comment. The fact is that I recently exchanged emails with a blogger living in Chicago on the time difference, which inspired me to write this entry. The blogger is bcj. You can find his link on the left sidebar. Though I'm not so familiar with haiku, please let me know when you start blogging. I'll be glad to visit your site.